Theo. David Named a "Great Cypriot"

The Phileleftheros Group, the largest and most influential media organization of Cyprus, on the occasion of the 60th anniversary of its founding, named 30 men and women of Cypriot origin, as “Great Cypriots” for their significant contributions to Cyprus in a broad range of fields.
Theo. David was singled out for this honor as an award winning architect / educator. He was instrumental in the creating of the Department of Architecture of the University of Cyprus, while being the architect of significant and influential buildings such as the New GSP Stadium and Athletic Center, the Spyros Kyprianou Arena, along with internationally recognized residential developments, churches and public school buildings. He also led the design of the first refugee housing estates after the war of 1974 in Cyprus. Theo. David is a professor of Architecture at Pratt Institute where he has been named a Distinguished Teacher, and is a visiting Professor at the University of Cyprus. His work as an architect and educator continues to be published and exhibited internationally.
The awards were presented at an event hosted by the publisher of Phileleftheros, Nicos Chr. Pattichis at his Cyprus Contemporary Art House-Museum, and was attended by the President and key members of the Cypriot Government, along with major political figures from Cyprus and Greece and numerous international personalities from all walks of life. The other award recipients included a Nobel Laureate, major philanthropists and art collectors, leaders in the medical fields, innovative business leaders, past Presidents of the Republic of Cyprus, pioneering political leaders, film and theater directors, educators, renowned literary figures and musicians and an Olympic athlete.
The Phileleftheros Group has published a three volume set with extensive illustrated biographies of all 30 contemporary recipients of this honor, along with 120 other significant personalities that are part of the early modern history of Cyprus.